A little taste

Standard

Just thought I would do a little master post of some of the meals I’ve been having. Food abroad overall has been not bad, some bland and not great but others pretty good.  So here’s the one’s I remembered to take a picture of.

My first real meal abroad, homemade vegetable soup and roll from a cafe just off of the Royal Mile in Edinburgh. Simple and delicious.

 

A mushroom Wellington with chips at Mum’s which serves traditional British food. I wish I had a picture of the inside, because it was full of cheese, mushrooms, and spinach. Yum

 

Really delicious macaroni and cheese from a pub off of Prince’s Street. I wish I had been able to take the leftovers home, but many British restaurants don’t have ‘takeaway’ options for their food. Ahh well it was wonderfully creamy.

 

 

My lovely brunch from the Elephant House in Edinburgh. This is the cafe where J.K. Rowling famously started writing Harry Potter so it was incredible to actually sit in the restaurant.  The food was quite yummy too (I had a shortbread cookie, a mocha, and scrambled eggs on whole wheat bread) so not only was it a super cool experience but good food as well.

 

Marshmallow hot chocolate and a chocolate croissant from Pret a Manger in York. So warm and chocolately, especially nice for a crisp day in York.

 

Me at Piccolino, this lovely Italian restaurant in town. I only had the salad pictured (the Tricolore with mozzarella, tomato, and avocado) that night since I wasn’t very hungry, but they make homemade pasta that I’ll have to go back and try.

Hope this little taste (haha puns) of my travels is fun! After all, everyone loves food.

 

One response »

Leave a comment