An English Summer

Standard

As I’m writing this, it is a delightful 72°F outside. The sun is shining, there’s a breeze, the sky is so blue, and people keep walking by in shorts eating ice cream and popsicles. It’s fantastic. I couldn’t ask for better weather anywhere, much less the North of England.

  •  I only have like 6 weeks left! It seems like a lot but nothing at all when I think about it.
  • I watched the Eurovision Song Competition last night with half of my hall, and it was so fun. If you’ve never really heard of Eurovision or don’t know much about it, I recommend looking into it. It’s hilarious. The basic premise is that European countries pick a group or person to sing a song, sometimes in English other times in their native language, in hopes of receiving enough votes from the panel and phone-in votes to win. It’s actually really political in the voting, and the performances are cheesy fantastic. Just a lot of fun.
  • My love for ice cream and fruit and salad has been rekindled by this warm weather. Yummmmm
  • I finished “A Feast for Crows” in the A Song of Ice and Fire series, the books by George R. R. Martin that the TV show Game of Thrones is based on. The books are so detailed and crazy and I love them.
  • I’m fairly certain I’m going to spontaneously combust when I touch down at LAX.
  • My dreams came true this week when I visited the Harry Potter Studio Tour outside of London. It was incredible. I cried twice because it was so cool and I became overwhelmed with happiness (yea, it happens ok?). We were in the tour for over 4 hours, saw EVERYTHING, met the carpenter from the films who happens to still work there, accidentally got a free private tour from two of the Interactors that worked there for half of the tour, and were the last ones to leave for the day. It was just special and an experience I’ll definitely never forget.
  • Image
  • This picture is actually from my friend Sahana, since at the moment he opened the Great Hall doors I started to flail around a little and tear up. It was so insane to walk in there after so  long picturing what it would be like.
  • Image
  • Me with my hand in the hand print Daniel Radcliffe left. We’ve held hands now, no big deal.
  • Image
  • In the Gyffindor common room, where I belong. Wish it wasn’t so blurry though.
  • ImageImageImageImageImage
  • Just some of the amazing props they had inside and at the Backlot. So cool.
  • We also tried butterbeer, bought souvenirs, made friends with some security guards and all in all had an absolutely amazing time. So worth it
  • I’m feeling a little ehhh about the presentations that are the final grade for this term in English. I hate doing group presentations because they’re stressful and awkward but my group mates are alright so far and we have some pretty cool ideas so now it’s just a matter of making it work.
  • I cleaned my room and washed some clothes and made my bed today. Go me.
  • I am very close to being broke. Very close. It’s a little scary but I’m sure somehow it will work out. After all, I still have just over 6 weeks left in England.
  • My hair is SO LONG. Probably going to end up cutting it soon because it will start bugging me.
  • I did not bring nearly enough warm weather clothing. I was so focused on not being cold that I never stopped to consider that it might get warm. Awkward.
  • I think I don’t have anything else to say.
  • Playlist for this post: Sigur Ros

2 responses »

Leave a comment